Why making your sophomore year busy, is a good idea

So you’re inching your way towards your sophomore year of college. Pretty big deal, huh? You’ve made it through one year of college already! It’s hard to believe and crazy to imagine and impossible to think, but yet it’s true. Your freshman year was basically you testing the waters and understanding college life. After a year, you’re pretty much an expert (maybe). Many freshmen join organizations on campus, go to tons of sports and cultural events, join a fraternity or sorority, and get a job. This post is NOT for those freshmen. 

I was part of the group of college freshmen that didn’t do…well pretty much anything. I wasn’t part of any organization, I didn’t have a job, and I went to very few sporting events and cultural events. And that was good for me. I needed that free time so I could find myself and figure out what I wanted and didn’t want to do. I don’t think it’s a really good thing to be super involved your first year of college. But your second year, it’s definitely a good thing. Here’s why:

You’ve had your laid back year. After freshmen year, things are just going to get tougher and tougher. You’re going to have harder and more demanding classes. You probably won’t be able to ace tests studying for them the night before. You’re classes will require more dedication. This means less parties and more studying. I know…it seems awful. But there’s a way to tackle fun and work and the way is; being busy! Last year you procrastinated on your school work because you didn’t have anything else to do. So planning for parties and nights out with friends could have become much more time consuming. The job market for people that have freshly graduated college is really competitive. Now, employers will not only be looking at your education, but your extra curricular. So it’s always a great advantage if you were part of a club or organization or have an internship to show on your resume. You can’t just breeze through college your whole time there. You have to work hard. I suggest getting an on campus job that’s flexible or joining a club/org that interests you. Maybe even consider Greek life. I am going to go through Informal Fall Recruitment when school starts and I’m going to try to get a paid tutoring position on campus. And if I have any time I might try to be a tour guide for my school as well. I don’t want to be overloaded with extra things, so we’ll see. This way you can be busy during the week. You’ll be motivated to get your work done. You’ll meet new people. You’ll see where you fit in. And you’ll avoid being around people you don’t want to be around. I met so many guys that ended up being jerks because I only met ones from a certain group. Being a part of different things can help me branch out and meet a variety of different people. Keep yourself busy, so you aren’t sad about being single or bored of having nothing to do. The more you have to do, the happier you will be and the more motivated you will be. ❤